Can I delete shared folder on Mac?

In iCloud Drive on your Mac, drag the folder or file to the Trash, then confirm that you want to delete the item. Do one of the following: If you’re the owner: The folder or file is removed from the devices of everyone you shared it with.

Is it safe to delete shared folder Mac?

No, it is a protected folder and cannot be deleted. The folder has nothing in it so takes up zero space. You can remove data from your Home folder except for the /Home/Library/ folder.

How do I remove a shared folder from my Mac?

This process is basically the same in all versions of OS X:

  1. Go to the  Apple menu and head to the ‘Sharing’ preference panel.
  2. Choose “File Sharing” from the sidebar.
  3. Look under the “Shared Folders” section and select the user(s) Public Folders, then choose the [-] minus button to remove it as a shared item.

Does removing a shared folder delete it?

Does it delete for everyone? ANSWER: Yes. If you delete a folder that you shared with others& you and others will lose access to it. This is because you own it and deleted it as the owner.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  You asked: How do you screen share a movie?

Why do I have a shared folder on my Mac?

OS X creates the Shared folder when there are more than one user accounts on a Mac. It exists specifically to allow sharing of files *between user accounts* on any one Mac.

How do I delete shared files on my macbook air?

Simply go to System Preferences>Sharing>File sharing>Options>Uncheck “Share file and folders using SMB(Windows) … Actually you need to uncheck all boxes under SHARED.

How do I delete a shared iCloud folder?

Remove a file or folder from a shared folder

In iCloud Drive on iCloud.com, drag the item out of the shared folder.

What happens if I delete a shared file?

Even if you delete a subfolder, you can still access the main folder and some subfolders in the main folder. In short, if you delete a file shared with you, it will only delete it from your drive, without any impact on other people’s drives.

Does deleting a shared file delete it for everyone?

When you remove a shared file that doesn’t belong to any folder, the file is removed from your Google Drive view. Since you are not the owner of the file, it’s not actually deleted for everyone. The owner and the users who have access to the shared file can still use it normally.

Do shared folders take up Google Drive space?

A folder that is shared with you by another person or organization does not take up space in your account. Only the files and folders that you own (the ones that you have created in Drive or uploaded to Drive yourself) count against your Drive storage quota.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Your question: What is growth vs dividend mutual fund?