Frequent question: What happens if I remove a shared file from Google Drive?

If you delete a folder that you shared with others& you and others will lose access to it. This is because you own it and deleted it as the owner.

What happens if I remove a file shared with me on Google Drive?

Even if you delete a subfolder, you can still access the main folder and some subfolders in the main folder. In short, if you delete a file shared with you, it will only delete it from your drive, without any impact on other people’s drives.

Does removing shared files from Google Drive delete them?

So if even if you removed shared files from your Google Drive, they would not get deleted. Or it will affect any other user who has access to the same file. Also, even if you remove a link from the subfolder, you will continue to access the main folder and some subfolders in the main folder.

Does deleting a shared file delete it for everyone?

When you remove a shared file that doesn’t belong to any folder, the file is removed from your Google Drive view. Since you are not the owner of the file, it’s not actually deleted for everyone. The owner and the users who have access to the shared file can still use it normally.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How do I list all shared folders?

Do shared Google Drive files take up space?

Files in “Shared with me” and shared drives don’t use space. These files only take up space in the owner’s Google Drive.

Where do removed files go in Google Drive?

On a computer, go to drive.google.com/drive/trash. Tip: You can sort your trashed files by trashed date to find the oldest or newest files trashed.

Whose storage is used in shared drive?

Normally, the user cannot share own storage space with other users. Even if you created a shared folder and other user saved their files in your shared folder, other users have to use their storage space. However, if you create a family group with other users, you can share your storage space with the group.

How do I delete a shared folder in Google Drive?

3.4 Delete a shared drive

  1. Make sure the shared drive is empty. If you want to keep files or folders, move them to My Drive. Or, to delete them, move them to the trash.
  2. Right-click the shared drive that you want to delete. click Delete shared drive.
  3. Click Delete Shared Drive to confirm.

When you upload a file to Google Drive it will take up space in your drive even if you upload to a folder owned by someone else?

No, the file will only take up space in the owner’s account. Here are the file details from a file that was shared with me in Google Drive.