When you share a file or folder using Dropbox, the recipient receives an email with a link to the file or folder. The recipient must have a Dropbox account and be signed into that account to view or edit the file or folder.
When using a share link, no one will be able to see any parent or sibling folder, period. They can only see the specific file or folder that you’ve linked to. If you’ve linked to a folder, they can see anything in the folder, including any sub-folders.
To enable viewer info for a shared file or folder:
- Sign in to dropbox.com.
- Hover over the name of the file and click the share icon (rectangle with an up arrow).
- Click the gear icon.
- Next to Viewer info, click to toggle On.
- Click Save.
A shared folder is a special type of workspace that enables you to share the contents of a folder in your Windows file system across all computers on which you have your account, and with other users by invitation. When you invite people to join a shared folder, they select a folder for sharing on their computers.
Shared folders use space in each member’s account, unless each person is on the same Dropbox Business team. Your Dropbox storage quota is calculated by adding up the total amount of data in your Dropbox account. This includes all shared folders you are a member of and all files collected from file requests.
Can everyone see my Dropbox files?
All files you store in Dropbox are private. Other people can’t see and open those files unless you purposely share links to files or share folders with others.
What happens when I delete a shared folder? If you delete a file from a shared folder, any member of the folder can restore the file. If you own the shared folder: After you permanently delete it, the folder is deleted from the Dropbox accounts of all members and their access is permanently removed.
Once Computer Management opens, expand System Tools Shared Folders (click on the small arrows as shown circled in the image below) then click Shares. Here you will see all the shares on your Computer and the number of connected users listed in the Client Connections column.
Does Dropbox notify when someone uploads a file?
The desktop application can display notifications on your computer when changes are detected in your Dropbox account. To choose which notifications you’d like to receive: Open your Dropbox desktop app preferences. Click the Notifications tab.
Does Dropbox notify when someone screenshots a file?
When a notification appears on your screen (telling you that your screenshot has been saved to Dropbox), click on that notification box. You’ll be taken to a preview of the file on Dropbox.com.
Share from the Dropbox folder on your computer
- Open the Dropbox folder on your computer.
- Right-click the file or folder you’d like to share.
- Click Share.
- Type the Email, name, or group of the person (or people) you’d like to share with.
- Select Can edit from the dropdown menu.
- Click Share.
There are three types of share permissions: Full Control, Change, and Read. Full Control: Enables users to “read,” “change,” as well as edit permissions and take ownership of files. Change: Change means that user can read/execute/write/delete folders/files within share.
Shared network locations Save files in a folder that your recipients can also access. You can then send recipients a message containing a link to the shared location.
Does deleting files on Dropbox free up space?
Deleted files don’t count against your storage quota, so permanently deleting them won’t free up space. If other Dropbox users have a copy of the files that you permanently delete, their copies won’t be deleted.
The size of a shared folder will be counted against the quota of every member of that folder, unless each person is on the same Dropbox Business team or Dropbox Family plan. For Business teams and Family plans, the size of the shared folder only counts once against the shared quota.
On the Dropbox desktop app
Right-click or command-click the folder you’d like to manage. Click Share…. Click the dropdown next to the member you’d like to remove. Click Remove.